Protein Packed Banana Loaf

banana bread.jpg

This recipe too is actually vegan! As explained in my other recipe post (see my Vegan Brownies recipe ) I am not actually vegan, however I do cook and bake vegan sometimes.

I attempted a vegan banana muffin recipe a few months back and LOVED it, it trumped my normal banana bread recipe ten fold and has such become my go to. It’s easy to make, keeps for about a week and a half and isn’t too un-healthy to grab as a snack especially with the additions I suggest.

Over the past few months, using my housemates and myself as guinea pigs I have changed the recipe a tad. As I eat predominantly vegetarian, but can be quite lazy/ short of time I am often worried about my protein intake, and so this banana loaf has two key ingredients to add a bit more protein to my diet; chia seeds and walnuts. Chia seeds in particular are a go to source of protein for vegans and seeing as I chuck them in all my smoothies I figured it couldn’t hurt to throw them in a cake (see here for a BBC article on the benefit of Chia! www.bbcgoodfood.com).

Without further ado you will need;

  • 3 cups plain flour
  • 1 cup caster sugar
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • 2tsp cinnamon
  • 2tsp baking powder
  • 1tsp baking soda
  • tsp salt
  • 2 bananas
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 50g chopped walnuts (optional)
  • 40g blended almonds (optional I threw them in a few times and liked it)
  • Chia seeds (optional, mix in as much as you like)
  • 50g sultanas (optional)

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 180°
  2. Mix together all the dry ingredients together in your mixing bowl, not including the walnuts, almonds, sultanas or chia seeds
  3. In a separate bowl mix together the oil, coconut milk and 2 mushed up bananas (this may require a third bowl and a fork!).
  4. Add the mixed wet ingredients to the dry till combined.
  5. Add in nuts, sultanas and chia seeds (you can follow my quantities or really just add as much as you want!)
  6. Pour the mixture into a loaf tin, or into a muffin case if you’d prefer*!

*I normally have enough for a loaf tin and 6 small muffins

 

Bake at 180° for around 30-35 minutes, you can check it’s cooked by inserting a clean knife, if it comes out clean or relatively clean go ahead and take it out!

Let me know if you try this recipe out!

Leave a Reply

