Vegan Brownies

I must pre-cursor this post with the admission that I’m not Vegan. In fact previously if you’d have offered me a vegan brownie I would have asked what you’ve hidden in it…presuming there was some sort of catch involving, Kale, avocado or chia seeds.

However, having more and more friends that are vegan, or moving towards a vegan lifestyle I wanted to d try and find a recipe for cake that doesn’t make you miss the sacrificed ingredients or ask what the catch is. This coming year one of my resolution is to become a more conscientious consumer, whilst I don’t presume I will ever go fully vegan, I do want to cut down my meat and dairy consumption. In some small effort to help the environment, and make my purchasing power count by choosing more ethical food sources.

But onto the recipe! I wanted to cook something for a bake sale at University, that anyone could eat (whether vegan or lactose intolerant!)…initially I found the recipe a tad confusing, however after a couple of attempts I think I’ve finally got the cups to grams conversions correct and the method down.

Ingredients:

  • 250 grams plain flour (use 70 in pan)
  • 240ml water
  • 220g brown sugar
  • 200g granulated sugar
  • 1tsp salt and 1tsp vanilla
  • 75g cocoa powder
  • 120ml oil
  • half tsp baking powder

Method:

  • Add 75 grams of the flour and all the water to a saucepan and stir over a low heat, stirring constantly until it reaches the consistency of a paste.
  • Remove from heat and let cool completely.
  • Mix the sugar, salt, vanilla, cocoa powder and vegetable oil, and then add to the flour-water mixture- and mix well.
  • Add the remaining  flour and baking powder bit by bit.
  • Spread mixture into a greased 11×7-inch pan.
  • Bake at 180c for 25-35 minutes, or until knife inserted into center of pan comes out clean

All that’s left is to enjoy the results!

vegan-brownies

 

 

Leave a Reply

